Facebook Twitter

Washington Firearms Dealer License

Firearms Dealer License Application

 

When do I need to obtain a Washington Firearms Dealer License?

 

RCW 9.41.010(10) requires anyone engaged in the business of selling firearms at wholesale or retail or who has, or is required to have a federal firearms license under 18U.S.C. Sec. 923(a) is required to have a Washington Firearms Dealer license.

 

How do I apply for a Washington Firearms Dealer License?

 

You can apply for a Washington firearms dealer license with the Prosser Police Department if your business is located in the City of Prosser. If your business is located in the unincorporated area of the county, then you must apply at the Benton County Sheriff’s Office.

 

Is there a background check?

 

Yes. You will be fingerprinted and a criminal history background check will be conducted prior to issuing your Washington firearms dealer license.

 

  • All employees are also subject to a fingerprint based criminal history background check as well. There is an additional $21.00 fee per employee for the background process.

 

How long does it take before I receive my Washington Firearms Dealer License?

 

If you are applying for your first Washington firearms dealer license, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check before the license is issued.

 

What documents will I need to bring with me when applying or re-applying for my Washington Firearms Dealer License?

 

You will need to bring:

  • A copy of your current Federal Firearms License
  • A copy of your current Washington State Master Business License (the address must match the location of the firearms dealer)
  • A completed State of Washington Firearms Dealer License Application
  • A valid Washington State Driver License or Washington State I.D., or be a resident of Washington for at least 90 days
  • $125.00 check or money order made payable to City of Prosser
  • Separate payment of $21.00 required for each employee

 

How long is my Washington Firearms Dealer License valid?

 

Your Washington firearms dealer license is valid for one year from the date of issuance. You will not receive a renewal notice and it is your responsibility to ensure your license has not expired.

 

How do I get the state pistol transfer forms I need to sell handguns at my business?

 

To receive the state pistol transfer forms you will need to contact the Department of Licensing, Firearms Unit at https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/firearms/firearmsonline.html or by contacting them at (360) 664-6616.

 

What if I want to move my firearms store/business?

 

If you are moving your store/business within the same law enforcement jurisdiction a replacement license with the new address will be issued with no fee. If you are moving to a new jurisdiction, you will need to contact that law enforcement agency for a new license.

 

What if I want to open another firearms store?

 

If you open another firearms store you will need to obtain a Washington firearms dealer license for that specific location. Again, you will need to bring: 

 

  • A copy of your current Federal Firearms License
  • A copy of your current Washington State Master Business License (the address must match the location of the firearms dealer)
  • A completed State of Washington Firearms Dealer License Application
  • A valid Washington State Driver License or Washington State I.D., or be a resident of Washington for at least 90 days
  • $125.00 check or money order made payable to City of Prosse
  • Sepearte payment of $21.00 required for each employee

 

 

For more information about firearms law:

 

You may select this link for more information pertaining to state firearms law, or you may call the Department of Licensing in Olympia at (360) 664-6616.

 

For questions regarding federal law pertaining to firearms, or if you would like to obtain a copy of Federal Firearms Regulations, please write or call:

 

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)

 

915 2nd Ave, Room 790
Seattle, WA 98174
(206)389-6800

www.atf.gov  

 

Questions? Call 509-786-8221 or email our Records Division